Academic Honors Convocation

Academic Honors Convocation

Academic Honors students take a group photo at Hickory Ridge.

The tenth annual Academic Honors Convocation took place on May 21st at Hickory Ridge Country Club. 

The event recognized 23 students for their academic achievements. All held a cumulative grade point average of 90 or above throughout high school. 

Students honored were:  Richard Daniels (valedictorian), Tyler Kast (salutatorian), Hailey Bader, Elisabeth Baker, Victor Benjovsky, Emily Caldwell, Garrett Derisley, Natalie DiCureia, Nathan Fearby, Josiah Finzer, Emma Fox, Allison Graham, Sara Hillman, Emma Lonnen, Gricelda Maldonado, Alana Petronio, Caleb Pettit, Justin Robinson, Riley Seielstad, Nathanael Smith, Samantha Vanacore, Noah Wadhams, and Kaitlin Zwifka.

Students received certificates of achievement and congratulations from Senator Ortt and Assemblyman Hawley’s office and honor graduate certificates from the Board of Education. 

Parents also participated in the event.  They placed honor cords around their child’s neck.  The honor cords are worn by students during graduation to signify honor graduate status.

Steven Papponetti, a graduate from the Albion High School Class of 2011, was the guest speaker.  Steven is a New York State trooper. He spoke about the importance of setting goals and working hard to meet those goals. He encouraged students to get involved in college activities and build a support network.  He was part of Hilbert College’s Leadership Program which helped him develop his leadership skills.  He graduated with honors and earned his Bachelor of Science in Forensic Science/Crime Scene Investigation.  He attended the Law Enforcement Training Academy in 2015 and the New York State Police Academy in 2016.   

While a student at Albion, Steven participated in the Workplace Internship Program, interning at the Medina Fire Department and the Albion Police Department.  He was also involved in the Albion Fire Department’s Explorer program and in 2009 was named Explorer of the Year.  He is still very involved in the Albion Fire Department and has been the recipient of the Firefighter of the Year in 2011-2012, 2014-2015 and 2015-2016.